Fit For A King

“I don’t mind so long as it’s healthy” – A line I must have said at least 100 times during both pregnancies, but the truth is, I was desperate for a girl. Most people thought second time around that I would be hoping for a boy, one of each, the perfect family, but for me – another girl would do just nicely! Paul (who is convinced the next one will be a boy, and if not, the one after, and if not then, definitely the one after that) is desperate for a son to do ‘boy things’ with but I think secretly loves every minute of girl time (what man doesn’t love Princess dress shopping in the Disney store?).

When I first discovered I was pregnant, the first baby shop I went into was Baby Gap with my mum. It was a beautiful white broderie anglaise dress that made up my mind if I didn’t have a little girl to dress “I would simply die!!!” – we walked over to the greys and blues in the boys section (mum warned me to be prepared, there was a 50% chance it was a boy after all) and I realized how much I would struggle to dress a boy. Quite frankly, the nappy situation would be the least of my problems.

With the exciting arrival of Prince George, it seemed a good time to step out of my comfort zone of finding beautiful girls clothes and instead, dedicate this weeks post to little outfits fit for a King…

The Romper

When they are new-borns, every outfit has to be about comfort – and there’s nothing nicer than cuddling a baby in a soft romper! Scarlett lived in Baby Joules in her first few months, not only are their one pieces beautifully made, they are stylish enough not to be mistaken for nightwear. This is a great take on a gentleman’s rugby shirt.

Screen Shot 2013-07-25 at 22.15.22The Vest

Jessie and James is a fabulous brand for when you are looking for something a little different. Even their staple vests have beautiful detail making an everyday basic in to a stylish baby statement.

Screen Shot 2013-07-25 at 22.17.44The Ensemble

You won’t be surprised to find No Added Sugar in this list, I just love this brand and if I had a boy, I would definitely be investing in this gorgeous mix and match little Pirate Top and the worlds most comfortable NAS trousers!

Screen Shot 2013-07-25 at 22.17.16Screen Shot 2013-07-25 at 22.16.51

The Sweatshirt

Every wardrobe needs a touch of nautical and where better to go to than Petit Bateau. You’re paying for the quality, the style is just an added bonus.

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 07.35.00

The Bib

Royalty or not, I bet he’s still a little dribbler and if anything like mine – will dribble so much his clothes will be wet through! Both my girls have worn bandana bibs from about 6 weeks until 6 months, it was an essential part of their outfits so I was determined to find a bib that wouldn’t ruin every look! Funky Giraffe bibs have the best selection of designs, have fleece backs for comfort and are very reasonably priced.

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 07.43.35

The Raincoat 

Hatley for children is what Burberry is for mums. The ultimate rain coat!

hatley rainwear boys bears at work raincoat-500x500

Maybe having a boy isn’t so bad after all… ;)

One thought on “Fit For A King

Leave a Reply

