Lotions, Potions and Myths…

Terrified of the lasting effects of pregnancy, mums-to-be are the best at taking care of their skin, but which products really work?! Despite endless hours scouring through press releases of the latest creams, anti aging, anti wrinkle, anti brown spots, skin smoothing, colour balancing, (you name it – i’ve written about it) and understanding the science that goes into the creams we buy –   when it comes to stretch marks you are either lucky or you’re not! Nearly all pregnancy books will tell you that if your mum suffered, so will you… I have to say from my experience and talking to friends, this does appear to be the case, but I do believe that there are ways of preparing and looking after your skin that can improve not only the appearance but the way you feel and the confidence you have.

You get in to such a great routine when pregnant of applying your lotions every day, for me, my skin would actually itch if I forgot to apply my cocoa butter in the mornings! And then as soon as baby is here, the old habit of ignoring the areas hidden by clothes starts  again…

Being a total toiletry junkie, my bathroom cupboards are filled with products and I’d like to share a few with you that I believe have really improved the appearance and feel of my skin.

My number 1 product is Burt’s Bees Mama Bee, it is an oil designed for mums to be but I continued to use this after my pregnancy because it feels heavenly! Unlike many moisturisers it’s effects last right up until you shower the next day, and gives your skin a beautiful, healthy sheen without being greasy. 

For my bump, I opted for Palmers Cocoa Butter Massage Cream for Stretch Marks. It absorbs quickly and smells nice and only needed applying once in the mornings. I did try Bio-Oil but the effects didn’t seem to last very long and I felt like I needed extra moisturising in the evenings. Some friends swear by it but it wasn’t for me.

I was bought Neal’s Yard Mothers bath Oil, for luxury bath times, it smells divine and coats your skin in a moisturising oil when you leave the bath. I’d also invest in the Mothers Massage Oil for those not so subtle hubby hints!

Exfoliating is crucial, and not just when pregnant – a good exfoliator will rejuvenate and nourish the skin and is worth doing at least once a week. I use Sanctury Salt Scrub applied with exfoliating gloves, it’s pretty hard core and not to be used when your skin is feeling rather sensitive but the after effects are remarkable!

If you have any product discoveries that you would like to share please add in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Lotions, Potions and Myths…

Leave a Reply

