Keep It Natural!

3 words you won’t hear me saying very often (as I write this I am sat in the hair dressers getting my roots highlighted)! But when it comes to skin care when pregnant, forget the science and find the most gentle products with fewer chemicals.

All these new hormones change the ph balance in our skin and what may have worked a few months ago could now be drying out your skin or contributing to break outs in spots. Worse than that, on a recent holiday to Mexico I experienced what I can only describe as a chocolate moustache, after 10 mins of both myself and my husband wiping vigorously with a serviette and spit, I realised this was just another joyous effect of being pregnant… it’s called Melasma, an increase in the tanning hormone Melanin. Luckily as my tan faded, so did my tash. A high factor was used for the remainder of that holiday!

So with this in mind, I have been researching the kindest and most luxurious skin and hair care products that are right for my skin today. Liz Earle kindly sent me a few products from their Naturally Active collection, and well, I have a new favourite product! I can’t recommend enough the Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser… it’s just lovely (and the winner of The Most Revolutionary Beauty Product 2012 Beauty Insiders’ Choice awards)! And has now replaced my Estee Lauder Perfect Clean Face Wash. They recommend using Instant Boost Skin Tonic after this to follow the Cleanse, Tone, Moisturise mantra, but when time is of the essence and your 1 yr old is hanging off your leg banging her head into the sink, sadly the mantra suffers. I have no doubt that the results would be amazing, but the cleanser followed by a rich moisturiser has worked wonderfully for me!

A product that should be in every household pregnant or not is E45 moisturising lotion, gentle enough for the face as well, it is a miracle cure for  dry skin and costs less than a fiver, (also appears to be a favourite with celebrities such as Danielle Lineker and Myleen Klass and they both look alright I suppose!)

If you can still reach your feet, as a little extra I would recommend Burts Bees Peppermint Foot Lotion, smells lovely, gives a wonderful tingly sensation and makes for the perfect hint to your partner to get rubbing those aching toes!

And now on to hair… So we’ve all been told we can expect much thicker and glossier hair when pregnant right? Well for me that just means more knots… If this has happened to you I recommend a wide tooth comb and these products:

Liz Earle Botanical Shine Conditioner for Dry or Damaged hair, this can be used daily and only a small amount is needed, it really does make a huge difference when trying to comb through after! And for really bad days, get some L’Oreal Professional Absolut Repair Cellular Serum which is basically a leave in conditioner, I’m not usually a fan of these but this one does seem to work for knots and even leaves a shine!


About 6 months after having your baby, hormone levels are supposed to get back to normal and all that excess hair should have fallen out… Fingers crossed!

2 thoughts on “Keep It Natural!

  1. Totally agree on the Liz Earle front. I did a little test of Liz Earle vs Eve Lom (battle of the cult cleansers) to decide my pre-wedding skincare regime and v much prefer how Liz Earle makes my skin feel and look. I wouldn’t use any other cleanser or moisturiser now! The only annoying thing is that I manage to leave a Liz Earle muslin in every hotel I go to.

    Like

    • haha yes, I can see a few spares coming in handy! I love that you have a pre-wedding skincare regime, there is some serious planning going into this big day!! Let me know about any other products you come across along the way! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

