Winter Is Coming…

Since Scarlett scooped out the remains of my moisturiser with my favourite foundation brush and poured my new toner over the entire contents of my make-up bag (the little darling), I decided it was as good a time as any to invest in a new skincare regime for winter. I initially hit Boots for a cheap temporary face wash and moisturiser but was covered in teenage spots within 2 days so instead contacted the experts to find a fix.

My first point of call was Dermalogica. There is something about the simple look of this brand that makes the cost justifiable. The fact that you aren’t paying for luxury packaging and a major advertising campaign with this years finest spokesmodel reassures me that it really is the product that carries the value.

The products I have been using are specific to my skin’s needs and designed to fight against the elements at this time of year. I am so impressed with the results of the products I have been using, I wanted to share with you my reviews and hope that you give them a go!

Daily Microfoliant, £40.30

This is the Heston Blumenthal of face washes… it comes in a powder form that activates with water and turns in to a beautiful creamy lather on your skin. It gently exfoliates the surface of your skin and works perfectly to remove any make-up leaving you feeling totally refreshed with perfectly smooth skin. I love it. And although I was sceptical about how easy it would be to use on a day to day basis, I can honestly say that 7 days in, it is no hassle whatsoever.

11

Skin Hydrating Booster, £51

Just a few drops of this is designed to give an intense boost to suffering skin that has lost its moisture. This is particularly relevant as winter draws nearer.

skin hydrating booster

I thought it might be worth adding why it is so crucial you re-evaluate your skincare products with the change in seasons. It’s not just the cold, nor is it just the heat that can cause damage and irritation to your skin, its the extremities of the two that play havoc! Central heating literally drains your skin of moisture and then taking this dehydrated skin in to the cold causes (I’m going to get all scientific now) the capillaries on your skins surface to dilate and contract reducing its elasticity (ageing) but worse than that – could lead to very unsightly permanent redness! 

Barrier Repair, £35.60

This (waterless) moisturiser comes in the form of a cloudy gel. It applies like a smooth serum to your face and a little really does go a long way. My understanding is that it works as a prevention rather than cure to suffering skin but it feels lovely, absorbs instantly and I actually feel like redness in my skin instantly reduces after each application.

Barrier repair

Elemis Pro-Intense Lift Effect Night Cream, £95

Since my L’Oreal Paris Youth Code night cream ran out, I have been using the Elemis Pro-Intense Lift Effect Night Cream and it is A.Mazing. Only launched this month, the rich cream feels and smells beautiful and has instantly ranked number one with the night products I have used. Like the wonderful Elemis Pro Marine cream, it’s not cheap – and thats due to the expensive and luxurious ingredients. This one is specifically designed for anti ageing and claims to lift, firm and tighten my skin whilst I sleep. If you can get your hands on a tub, you won’t be disappointed!

Elemis Night Cream

3 thoughts on “Winter Is Coming…

  1. I love Dermalogica and although a little pricey their products are so good that you only use a little at a time anyway. I’m using their Age Smart range on the premise that prevention is better than cure and it all has SPF which I think all day skin care should have.

    Like

  2. I love the dermalogica range. I’m a big fan of the microfoliant and my favourite is the Smoothing cream (which i also mix with the UV cream as this one doesn’t come with it in). Love love love. K x

    Like

Leave a Reply

