Stylist For A Day

So this week I have been set a challenge to put together a capsule wardrobe based on a specific lifestyle. I actually really love shopping for other people when they ask advice on an outfit for an occasion, but an entire new winter wardrobe and a £1500 budget?! I’m in heaven!

The lifestyle to fit:

Occupation: Photographer

Hobbies: Dog walking

Upcoming Events: Weekend in Bruges with Hubby

Extras: School runs, parents evenings, lunches with friends and looking stylish at home

The ultimate in the ‘Chic Outdoors’ is a Moncler coat. These are the most beautifully tailored puffer jackets, honestly it won’t matter what you wear with it – you can’t help but look stylish in a Moncler! This is the classic style that will never go out of fashion, they aren’t cheap – but a safe investment if you ask me 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 10.40.50

£590, Moncler

I still can’t find any better skinnies than the GAP Jean legging, at less than £40 I’d get a couple of pairs in black and navy, there just isn’t any point in looking elsewhere and spending more money – these are the best fit!

I believe if you work from home (as I do) it’s crucial to still make an effort with your appearance, it gets you into work mode and it certainly helps me to focus. I have no chance of putting together a professional document whilst in front of the TV wearing my PJs. This beautiful cashmere roll neck from The White Company is the perfect stay at home attire.

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 10.27.04

£185, The White Company

Uggs are the perfect day boots, whether you love them or hate them I haven’t met a mum yet that doesn’t own a pair! However, some days, you want to feel a little smarter and whilst the Dubarry Galways are the ultimate for stylish dog walking and general outdoor living, some smarter leather boots are essential for work, meeting friends and nice days out. I love these suede knee highs from Kurt Geiger.

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 11.27.23

£195, Kurt Geiger

This is a great take on the classic waterfall cardigan and I just had to include as a wardrobe staple.

£110, Splendid

£110, Splendid

And for those special occasions… Everybody needs a DVF wrap in their lives. They are perfect for ALL occasions and suit all body shapes. They start from just under £300 in most places but  mine were bought in the January sales where you can usually pick up a bargain for around the £150 mark. This monochrome print is perfect for the summer with bare legs and nude shoes but will also look gorgeous with black tights and heels for the winter.

Screen Shot 2013-11-17 at 11.35.55

£375, Selfridges

A beautiful and brightly coloured scarf that will dress up any outfit is an essential for every seasons wardrobe – this is a beautiful example from J Crew.

A0136_ED6268

£59.50, J Crew

Well I’m not sure how well I managed to fit the brief on my first job as a stylist, but one thing I do know, my Christmas list has just grown…

Leave a Reply

