Practical Fashion: My Casual Spring Get-Up

I started writing my blog almost 2 years ago, with the aim of offering fashion and beauty advice to mums with a keen interest in current trends but that don’t have the time to indulge in them.  I felt qualified to offer this advice after years managing the marketing for one of the world’s largest beauty brands – L’Oréal Paris, and also being a mum myself. But, looking back over previous fashion posts, it’s quite obvious I was new at this ‘being a mum’ business – for instance, suggesting you take 15 minutes out of your week for a DIY manicure was totally ridiculous – what mother has 15 minutes!? Well Scarlett is now almost 3, and with a demanding little 1 year old forever wrapped to my ankle, my wardrobe and lifestyle has had to evolve quickly. This week, I have discovered some style must-haves that are essential for fashion conscious mums who need to keep practicality at the forefront of their wardrobe decisions.

First up – the skinny ribbed vest. The most flattering of the vests as it hugs to your curves without being too clingy. Topshop offer a huge selection in a variety of colours.

09B10EGRY_large

Team with a rustic scarf for cooler days such as this beautiful embroidered tassel scarf from Mint Velvet.

031005213

I think 24 was my husbands last count of skinny jeans in my wardrobe (I still have no idea what point he was trying to make), but recently I have decided its all about the ‘boyfriends’ for ultimate comfort. Either denim or chinos, slung low on the hips and rolled at the ankle – these are the seasons must have cut. These are Reiko jeans but Zara also do a great selection at reasonable prices.

boy-legerement-destroy-1

This is an Argentine Polo belt by a brand called Pampeano, a seriously stylish accessory to transform a basic outfit. I wear one of these as my everyday belt and am constantly getting asked where it’s from, it seems to be so popular I have decided to put together a competition and chance to win one, so make sure you don’t miss out by following this blog top right of this post.

polo-belts-aurora-low-res

Finally for the shoes… For unbeatable comfort you must check out the Footglove collection at M&S. I know I know, it’s not your usual Dune or KG shopping experience, but seriously, you put a pair of these on and you will never look back. I have just invested in these beautiful little boat shoes and am already considering buying a second pair should anything happen to them!

HT_01_T02_8402W_Z4_X_EC_0

One thought on “Practical Fashion: My Casual Spring Get-Up

Leave a Reply

