Scarlett’s New Room

Now it’s not quite finished but I was so excited about Scarlett’s new room I couldn’t wait to post about it! With the arrival of a new little sister and the move into our new house just 6 months later, it was important to me to make Scarlett’s room as special as possible so she felt secure and had a place to call her own that she enjoyed to be in. She also has a tendency to wake up in the night and want to get in to our bed, so we had the added incentive to give her a bed so comfy she wouldn’t want to leave it!

SONY DSC

Here are a few snaps of her new room…

The single bed is from Aspace, (they have really great sales and they seem to come about quite frequently so always wait for a promotion if you shop here!). We also bought the duvet, the mattress and the mattress protector from here, I can totally recommend the luxury single mattress with bamboo cover – its seriously comfortable!

Paul suggested Peppa Pig bedding for Scarlett and this is exactly the reason why I’ve let him have zero input in the rest of the house. I chose a beautiful Sanderson bed set in a pink stripe so that it would compliment florals and other prints that would make their way into her room.

SONY DSC

With it being a relatively new house, the walls are very white and every room has fitted wardrobes and white wooden shutters on the windows. The challenge was introducing colour and texture to make the room cosy. The easy solution for this is bunting – my favourite! So I made this with my left over fabrics and trims I had from making the lounge cushions. JoJo’s also do some great quality bunting – we have it in the play room and get lots of comments!

SONY DSC

I also made this fabric pin board on the wall – it’s an easy and effective way to add subtle soft furnishings to a room.

SONY DSC

The lamp shade was hand made by my good friend and textiles designer Edwina Sercombe. You must check out her site if you like things a little out of the ordinary for your home!

SONY DSC

You’ll also notice we have a Gro Clock. A clever invention that changes from stars to sun to educate the child when it’s time to get out of bed. Scarlett seems to understand the concept but still likes to come in to our room to let me know what it’s showing…

What did people with kids do before Ikea bought out the Expedit range!? I think these block of shelves are the best piece of furniture I have ever invested in especially when you compare them to the cost of fitted units.

SONY DSC

I wanted to put lots of photos in Scarlett’s room so she always had familiar faces around her when she was in here on her own. My favourite is her First Year frame, a pic from every month in her first year and something to be treasured forever. I got this one (above) in Mamas and Papas but there are loads of beautiful ones on notonthehighstreet.com that I shall be checking out for Savannah.

SONY DSC

I also bought the sweet fabric heart hook to hang her dressing gown on from JoJo Maman Bébé. It’s these little touches that make the room so personal.

I found these beautiful little mirrored butterflies in Laura Ashley. I was desperate to include butterflies in to her room as these represent happiness.

SONY DSC

The perfect storage solution for soft cuddly toys is this brilliant fabric basket from JoJo Maman Bébé, they have a huge selection and are all reasonably priced.

SONY DSC

All the hard work certainly paid off, both girls love being in here and we have our bed back. Well, most of the time 🙂

image

3 thoughts on “Scarlett’s New Room

  1. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing.

    The clarity in your post is just spectacular and
    i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your
    permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

    Like

Leave a comment